Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

My thoughts on the Rogue One: A Star Wars Story trailer.

If you haven’t seen it, or want to relive it (over and over):

I loved the trailer, as you might imagine. I am stoked for more female led Star Wars! So excited to see a Mexican star and a fine cast of Asian men. I would have loved more women in the cast, but the exceptional casting of Mon Mothma is promising. You may not care to see much of my response, though, so here are some details I picked up.

Screenshot 2016-04-10 at 1.27.19 PM

I can’t match that Astromech Droid in the bottom right to any known model. It looks close to R5-X2, but he was Jabba’s droid in The Phantom Menace. The other astromech droids I remember that are R5 model and red would be R5-K6 from the Yavin base and R5-D4, but neither match this droid’s coloration. Anybody who has a more sensible eye for astromech droids should hit me up with more info.

Screenshot 2016-04-10 at 1.31.10 PM Screenshot 2016-04-10 at 1.31.41 PM

Jan Dodonna? (The one who calls her Lee-uh) Airen Cracken? (I don’t think we have a canonical appearance of Cracken yet – he was featured in Moving Target: A Princess Leia Adventure but I don’t recall if he was still haired as he was in the deleted scene)

Screenshot 2016-04-10 at 1.34.04 PM

In Legends, two dots means that you’re a Captain in the Navy. I wonder if that’ll carry over here.

Screenshot 2016-04-10 at 1.37.15 PM

Anyone else digging the Hoth-esque digs here?

Screenshot 2016-04-10 at 1.38.19 PM

Notice the datapad in her hand that carries on to the beach scene.

Screenshot 2016-04-10 at 1.39.34 PM

Screenshot 2016-04-10 at 1.38.49 PM

Looks like our first look at some co-stars.

Finally, some favorite Tweets:

 

Leave a Reply

