ICYMe: Week of July 16-22

I’ve been all over the Web – don’t miss out on anything with my weekly round-up!

Over at Eleven Thirty-Eight, I wrote about Star Wars crossovers and how they should be modeled a bit more after Marvel events:

What Star Wars Comics Can Learn from Marvel
thescreamingcitadel

Star Wars, on the other hand, has not had the same type of events in its two-plus years with Marvel. Rather than building to an event storyline, the Star Wars series have kept to crossover arcs. These are de facto events, just not advertised as such. The first, Vader Down, took place at the intersection of Darth Vader (as Vader fought Cylo’s creations) and Star Wars (as Luke continued his Jedi training.) Stranded on Vrogas Vas, Darth Vader fought the Rebel Alliance as Luke and the murderbots explored a Jedi temple. Recently, Star Wars and Doctor Aphra met in The Screaming Citadel, a gothic-esque storyline where Aphra’s search to make bank on a Jedi artifact tempted Luke to join her quest.”

At Mynock Manor, I continued my Legendary Adventures with The Old Republic: Annihilation:

tora

“I tell you what, I have been exhausted on the Legendary Adventures with SO MANY of the novels focused on villains. Now, don’t get me wrong: I love me a good villain. Grand Admiral RAE SLOANE, Darth Vader, and Darth Caedus proved to be exciting villains at a time. But I will admit: I’m not a huge fan of stories which focus too heavily on characters who are villains for the sake of being villains alone. Characters like Darth Bane and Darth Zannah, whom we will encounter soon on the adventures, feel more well rounded than a lot of the villains we have experienced before, like Chratis. That made reading Annihilation a breath of fresh air: a hero! Theron Shan, estranged son of Jedi Grand Master Satele Shan, proves to be an interesting foil to characters like Luke Skywalker. More on that below.”

Leave a Reply

